The Plateau bloggers/online media association(PLABOMA) on Friday 17th December 2021 hosted its members, guests, and dignitaries to their end-of-year dinner for the year ending 2021.

It was an exclusive evening of glamour and celebration as premium guests in attendance were hosted to a grand dinner reception and thrilled to an entertaining evening at the Prestigious Elial Centre in Jos. 

The Association (PLABOMA) recognized some key individuals and organizations that have furthered the course of the information communication technology ecosystem in the state, region and nation at large with special recognition awards. Others were also recognized for their notable contribution to humanity and for exceptional impact within and outside Plateau state.

While delivering his opening remarks, Chairman of the occasion, the member representing Riyom/Barkin Ladi federal constituency in the Federal House of Assembly, Hon Simon Mwatkon Phd. spoke on the challenges and gains of the social media in the present contemporary society. 

Hon Mwatkon said he was however moved to support the Plateau Bloggers and Online Media Association as he has noted with delight how members have tried in disseminating effective information.

Also welcoming guests, Chairman of the Association, Comrade Friday Bako, said though this was the first ever gathering of the association for the end of Year Dinner and Award Night, citizens should expect more coming next year as the association will look to mark a social media day. He noted that the association was birthed  to harmonize the activities of social media influencers and curb online fake news. 

Comrade Bako however called for more support for the Plateau Bloggers/Online Media Association in setting up a secretariat and for individuals and businesses to partner with bloggers and Online influencers as it offers so much opportunities.

There was also a Life time recognition and a minute silence observed for late Miss Loisinta Vou Pwol, a former PLABOMA Executive and Publisher of the The State of Plateau Blog who passed on earlier in the year.

High point of the event was the presentation of Recognition and Excellence Awards to Ngo Sarah Dagah ( De Sele Jos ), Barr. Gyang Zi, Lt. Col. Samuel Fwanje Gulong (Rtd), Chief Ayuba Gufwan Burki who all bagged an award of Excellence for Humanitarian Service.

Dr. Kenneth Egwuda, Hon. Fom Gwottson Dalyop, Hon. (Dr) Mafeng Gwallson, Mr. David Daser, Mr. Joseph Lengmang and Dr. Haggai Gutap, Dr. Chris Kwaja and Da Yakubu Taddy were all recognized with a Special Recognition for Exceptional Impact Award.

Other Awardees with Special Recognition for Exceptional Impact Award also included Dr. Sumaye Hamza, Maj. Gen. Chukwuemeka Okonkwo, Maj. Gen. Ibrahim Sallau Ali and Sergeant Solomon Johnson

The Plateau Bloggers and Online Media Association is the recognized Umbrella body that houses all professional bloggers and online journalists in Northern Nigeria.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *